Laziness: Is It a Nature or an Option?

This topic is very bothering me, so I think giving my opinion in this subject will make me know the true meaning of laziness. And since this topic leads to other useful things, it’s good to be written down.
First of all, have you ever thought that where does this laziness come from? Well, the answer is really simple: from ourselves! Our fading spirit in doing something hard makes us to give up in it, and we never try to do it again. But the fading spirit – or despair – is not the only factor of laziness. The belief that you can’t do something by yourself is also a factor that destroys your diligence and makes you become lazy. Another factor that I know includes arrogance, too much self-estimation, your friends’ affection, losing faith in yourself, etc.
All of these factors won’t turn to laziness if you regain back the lost thing once you entered the state I call “pre-laziness” state. But, once it gets worse, the factors will give you some new habits and emotions. New habits are some stuff in daily-life, like hang out after school when you are supposed to study, play computer games when you are supposed to do your homework, etc. New emotions you get include careless about your environment, guilty (because of laziness), harsh to others, feel that diligent people are ridiculous, etc.
The problem is not only about the laziness, but about the effects. First of all, you will start to be careless of anything about lessons and school, and choose to play instead. Then, you lose your ability of doing something; you become too dependent to other people, so you start to cheat their works. Even though you think that diligent people are ridiculous, you need their work to be cheated, thus making you as someone using others. If there’s no one to help him, he’ll not pass some tests and exercises since he’s too dependent to other people Laziness totally makes someone bad literally, as it will cause the good qualities of him to disappear, like his abilities and diligence.
In my explanations, laziness is clearly a choice. When you start to give up on something, you don’t choose to fight for it and stop fighting for it. Successful people are someone who lost a lot of things, but doesn’t give up on his dreams.
Here are some quotes I always read when I started to feel despair. I hope they can recover your spirit and keep the laziness away to control you the same as they work for me:
• “The Warrior of the Light continues despite his lack of faith in the middle of the journey he’s been through. He goes forward and, in the end, faith returns.” – taken from Paulo Coelho’s “Warrior of the Light: A Manual”, with some changes from my mind.
• “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.” – Apostle Paul, 1 Corinthians 9:24 – 27

However, the choice for yourself is never in other’s people hand, no. It’s in your hand. So, what are you going to do? Giving up and become a lazy, dependent person or keep staying as a diligence, high spirited warrior who will never give up again in pursue of dreams?

Leave a Reply

